Akpom Wins English PFA Championship Players’ Player of the Year Award

England-born Nigerian striker Chuba Akpom, has won the Professional Football Association (PFA) Championship Players’ Player of the Year award.

Akpom claimed the award at the 50th PFA Awards held at the Lowry Theatre on Tuesday 29th August.

The former Arsenal player scored 28 goals in the Championship and in all competitions for Middlesbrough last season.

His impressive form in front of goal saw him land the Golden Boot and a move to Ajax for £10 million.

Other winners at the PFA awards are Manchester City striker Erling Haaland who won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award while Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka went home with the PFA Young Player of the Year accolade.

Also, Arsenal and Man City dominated the PFA Team of the Year with nine players from the respective sides making up the elite XI.

It may not be much of a surprise given Arsenal and City battled it out for the Premier League title last season which saw Pep Guardiola’s men pip them to the post.

The Team of the Year are Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), John Stones (Manchester City), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), William Saliba (Arsenal), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Rodri (Manchester City), Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Erling Haaland (Manchester City) and Bukayo Saka (Arsenal).

Meanwhile, Nigerian superstar David Adeleke, popularly known as Davido, performed at the awards.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: