Afrobasket: D’Tigress Shoot Down Senegal To Equal Four Consecutive Title Victories

Nigeria’s D’Tigress continued their domination of the continent as they demonstrated another convincing performance to emerge as the winners of the 2023 Women’s Afrobaskteball Championship after beating Senegal in Kigali.

Despite having it rough during their preparation, the players never allow it to affect them as they started the championship like a house on fire thrashing both DR Congo and Egypt at the group stage.

They overpowered both Ivory Coast and the host Rwanda in the quarter-final and semi-final before setting up a mouth-watering clash against rival Senegal.

The final played at the BK Arena on Saturday witnessed a fierce affair between both teams but D’Tigress dominated the opening proceeding to win the first quarter 19-10.

The Nigerian side continues their impressive form in the second quarter and secured 43-31 going into halftime.

Senegal fought back strongly in the third quarter and cut down the points to a respectable 62-57.

Despite all the pressure and hard work from the Senegalese, D’Tigress held on to win the game 84-74 and retained the title for the 4th consecutive edition.

Untill today Senegal were the only side in Africa to have won the title four consecutive times but D’Tigress were able to equal the feat after beating the same Senegal in the final.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: