11 State Universities Still in Session Despite Prolonged ASUU Strike

It has come to our notice that no fewer than 11 state-owned universities have chosen not to partake in the ongoing nationwide ASUU strike.

State universities in Osun, Rivers, Delta, Borno, Anambra, Kwara and Akwa Ibom states and at least three universities owned by the Lagos State government are in operation.

According to the Punch, a final year student of Political Science, Master Ovum Amadi in an interview with them said he was preparing for his examinations next week. He said, “Examinations have started. Those in 200-level have started.”

The spokesman for the university, Dr. Ngozi Okiridu, said the institution had no reason to join the strike for two main reasons.

She said the university is a teacher training institution. He added, “Governor Nyesom Wike pays our salaries promptly every month. He has not failed to pay for one day.”

Lecturers in two universities owned by Rivers State, Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt and the Rivers State University, Port Harcourt, did not join the strike.

At the Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt, academic activities were going on as many of the students were writing examinations on Monday.

The National Universities Commission and the Academic Staff Union of Universities are to meet in Abuja today, Tuesday, September 6.

Categories: News

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply