EFCC Arrests 13 Suspected Illegal Miners In Ilorin For Not ‘Paying Royalties To FG’

The Ilorin Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC,  in collaboration with the Kwara State Command of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, NSCDC and the Federal  Ministry of Mines and Steel Development have arrested thirteen (13) suspected illegal miners operating in Kakafu village in Pategi Local Government Area of Kwara State.

The suspects are, Buba Mohammed, Yusuf Umar, Surajo Shehu, Abubakar Abdullahi, Salisu Mohammed, Quadri Sulaiman and Nwafor Chinonso.

The suspects

Others are: Abdullahi Isa, Mustapha Mohammed, Buhari Hassan, Basiru Jafaru, Murtala Jafaru and Jafaru Abdullahi.

A statement issued by EFCC Spokesman, Wilson Uwujaren on Wednesday, said they were arrested on Tuesday, August 30, 2022 in a joint operation, following credible intelligence received by the EFCC on some suspected illegal miners operating in the area.

According to the statement, five (5) trucks fully loaded with different brands of solid minerals were recovered from the suspects.

One of the recovered trucks

“Preliminary investigations showed that the suspects were not paying royalties to the Federal Government as required by law,” the statement said

“They will soon be charged to court as soon as investigations are concluded.”

Categories: News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply