Asisat Oshoala wins Best CAF Women Player for the 5th time

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala clinched the CAF Women’s Award for 2022 yesterday at a ceremony held in Rabat.

The 27-year-old Barcelona forward helped the Spanish side win the La Liga women League last season.

This was the fifth time the Super Falcons forward won the award and she did so ahead of Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon and Inter Milan) and Zambia international Grace Chanda (Zambia and BIIK Kazygurt).

With this, she becomes the first African to win this prestigious for a record five times, overtaking Perpetua Nkwocha who claimed the accolade on four occasions.

She was instrumental in Barcelona’s charge to the treble of Spanish Women’s Super Cup, Copa de la Reina and the Primera Division

Despite injuries plaguing her season, she still managed to score 20 goals in 19 league appearances to share the golden boot award with Brazilian Geyse Ferreira, who managed the same number of goals in 27 appearances for Madrid CFF.

Internationally, she contributed little as she did not score a single goal for the Super Falcons in the period under review.To make things worse, she was ruled out of Women’s Africa Cup of Nations 2022 with Nigeria through injury after suffering a medial collateral ligament strain in the West African’s 2-1 defeat to South Africa in Rabat.

Oshoala is the fourth Nigerian to land the women’s version of the award, following in the footsteps of Mercy Akide (2001), Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011) and Cynthia Uwak (2006 & 2007).

Women’s Awards in Full

Club of the Year (Women) – Mamelodi Sundowns
Interclub Player of the Year (Women) – Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Young Player of the Year (Women) – Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Coach of the Year (Women) – Desiree Ellis (South Africa).

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply