53 APC Senators Vote Against Electronic Transmission of Election Results

The All Progressives Congress members in the Nigerian House of Senate have unanimously voted against electronic transmission of election results like it is done in most nations serious with democracy.

Apparently, the senators will rather have the election results to be counted for days on the national analog television channel, the NTA so that there will be enough time to manipulate the results.

The APC Senators attributed their decision to vote against that aspect of the electoral reforms act to the NCC’s claim that only 43 per cent of the country has network coverage.

Kabiru Gaya

However, all the PDP Senators in the House voted in support of the results to be transmitted electronically.

As expected and earlier reported by Switch Nigeria, the Chairman of the Senate Committee on INEC, Kabiru Gaya was also amongst the 52 APC Senators who kicked against the act.

Categories: POLITICS

Tagged as: ,

2 replies »

Leave a Reply