Dorminant City Leave it Late to Clinch Yet Another League Cup

Aymeric Laporte’s late strike was enough to seal another Carabao Cup triumph for Manchester City, for the fourth year running.

The defender should have been sent off after a foul in the first half, but was allowed to stay on. And in the 84th minute, he struck the decisive blow.

Pep Guardiola’s men started this game like they approach every other final, and it took some resolute defending by Ryan Mason’s Tottenham to keep the London side in the game for that long.

Laporte was twice caught out by the pace of Lucas Moura, and Pep will be hoping he does better come midweek when they take on Mauricio Pochettino’s Paris Saint Germain in the UEFA Champions League Semi Final.

With the silky skills of Neymar and the pace of Mbappe, City’s backline will surely be tried.

Tottenham never really got it going, as City restricted them to just two shots all game.

In winning the trophy for the fourth successive season, they have now matched the record set by Liverpool in the 1980s for consecutvie triumphes, while Guardiola is now the joint-most successful manager in the competition’s history.

City last lost a Carabao Cup tie in October 2016 while captain Fernandinho – who lifted the trophy alongside fellow stalwart Sergio Aguero – has now won the competition a record six times.

Leave a Reply