Football World Divided as UEFA Moves to Discontinue the Champions League in Favour of an Elitist League

The top brass of European football across the major national leagues, have voted to disembark from the current UEFA Champions League format, and instead form another, called the European Super League.

According to the newsletter released by UEFA, six teams from England, three from both Spain and Italy have agreed to partake in the new League.

Florentino Perez is set to be the new President of the ESL.

They are: Liverpool, Arsenal, Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur from England. From Spain, there is the two Madrid clubs, Real and Atletico and Barcelona. While from Italy, there is Juventus, Internazionale Milan and AC Milan.

John W. Henry of Liverpool will be one of the Vice Presidents.

If things go as planned, the competition will kick off this August and will run till May.

Below is the newsletter as released by those in charge.

However, many football lovers view the proposed switch to be based on financial reasons. While some see it as elitism and a show by the top clubs that they are far and beyond teams with less financial power.

Arsenal’s Stan Kroenke will also form a part of the leadership.

Under the new scheme, Real Madrid president Florentino Perez will head the Super League, with three Americans, John W. Henry of Liverpool; Stan Kroenke of Arsenal; and Joel Glazer of Manchester United, as his assistants.

As well as Joel Glazer.

It remains to be seen how the proposed Super League will look like if it sees the light of day.

Categories: SPORTS NEWS

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply