APC Appoints Niger Gov, Bello To Chair Committee On Membership Registration, Validation Exercise (PHOTOS)

The All Progressives Congress (APC) on Wednesday, inaugurated the National Committee for Membership Registration and Revalidation exercise of the party, with Niger State Governor and Chairman North Central Governors Forum, Abubakar Sani Bello as its Chairman.

The committee was inaugurated by the Caretaker Chairman Extraordinary and National Convention Planning Committee of APC, Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State at the party’s National secretariat in Abuja.

Buni said the last time the party embarked on such exercise was in 2014.

He added that the inauguration of the committee has set the ball rolling for old members of the party to revalidate their membership while new members will be admitted into the party.

According to him, the inauguration of the committee became necessary to allow for those who left other parties to join the party to get registered and also millions of people that have attained the age of 18, and willing to register to equally do so.

Buni noted that the names of those who left the party are to be expunged from the register.

He further said the registration is open to all, as no one will be disenfranchised, but warned that anyone who tries to sabotage, hijack or disrupt the exercise would be dealt with decisively.

The APC extraordinary committee chairman said that members of the committee were carefully chosen based on their track records and capacity to deliver the assignment and assured them of the provision of logistics, for them to succeed.

Responding on behalf of the committee, Governor Abubakar Sani Bello said the concerns of the national secretariat on the party’s registration are noted, assuring that they will not fail to deliver to justify the confidence reposed in them.

He also assured that the team will carry out the exercise with decency, without bias thereby giving equal opportunity to all who want to join the party.

Bello reiterated that unruly behaviour will not be accepted by any individual or group of persons.

The chairman of the committee explained that their major objective is to grow the party and ensure that the party wins elections at all levels

He said, “Our business is to grow our party, not limit people. We shouldn’t get intimidated by the quality and caliber of people joining our party because we feel they want to deprive us of certain positions, that is left in the hands of God.”

Other members of the committee are; Senator Ken Nnamani, Senator Lawal Shuaibu, Senator Osita Izunaso, Alhaji Tijjani Musa Tunah, Engr. Rotimi Fashakin, Wale Aboderin, Hon Stella Oketete, Hajiya Hassan Abdullahi; while Senator John Akpan Udoedeghe, the National Secretary of the party is to serve as the Secretary of the committee.

Leave a Reply