Minister Pantami to Commission 7 Completed Projects, Flag Off 5 Development Programmes

Dr Ali Isa Ibrahim Pantami, Honourable Minister for Communications and Digital Economy, will today 20th August 2020 commission seven completed digital economy projects and flag off five digital capacity development programmes across Nigeria. The commissioning exercise will be done virtually (via electronic means). This is the fourth batch of a series of projects for Nigeria’s digital economy, by the National Information Technology Development Agency, NiTDA. The projects comprise of Digital Capacity Training Centre, Virtual Examination Centre, E-Library, Emergency Communication Centre, School Knowledge Centre, ICT Innovation Hub, and E-Accessibilty Centre in various tertiary institutions and public locations across Nigeria.

NiTDA was created in April 2001 to carry out the Nigerian Information Technology Policy and coordinate the IT development in Nigeria. The National Information Technology Development Act 2007 mandates the Agency to create a framework of learning, development, planning, research, standardisation, application, coordination, monitoring, evaluation, and regulation of information technology activities, practices and systems in Nigeria.

NiTDA is the clearing house for all IT projects and infrastructural development in the country. Their mission is to create the enabling environment for Nigerians to develop, adopt and get ultimate values from digital technology.

The projects to be commissioned today by Minister Pantami are:

  1. E-Library at the Federal College of Education, Technical, Bichi, Kano State
  2. ICT Innovation Hub at the Oyo State Trade Fair Complex, Ibadan
  3. E-Accessibility Centre at Government School for the Deaf, Malumfashi, Katsina State
  4. Virtual Examination Centre at the Enugu State College of Education (Technical), Enugu
  5. Digital Capacity Training Centre at the Elkanemi College of Islamic Theology, Yola, Adamawa State
  6. School Knowledge Centre (SKC), at AUD High School, Ikole-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  7. Emergency Communication Centre (ECC) in the city of Kano, Kano State

The Digital Capacity Development Training Centres are targeted at artisans. They are located at the following locations:

  1. Suleja, Niger State
  2. LAUTECH, Oyo State
  3. Federal College of Education, Okene, Kogi State
  4. NiiT, Owerri, Imo State
  5. Benchelis School, Warri, Delta State

Switch Nigeria had also reported that Minister Pantami commissioned a new Digital Centre at the headquarters of the National Information Technology Development Agency in Abuja. Click here to read the news.

The Minister said that his priority is to put the digital economy of Nigeria on a pedestal for sustainable growth and development of businesses and institutions, and protect them against persistent cyber attack. This, he believes, will help not only in cyber security but also in vital communication in times of emergency, and also contribute to enhancement of institutions towards the goal of transparency. He said that the projects are in tandem with the three priorities of president Muhammadu Buhari: Security, Anticorruption, and Economic Development.

You may go through this link to download the NiTDA Act which forms the basis of the establishment of the Agency, its mandates, mission, structure, board set up, and rules.

The commissioning will commence at 11 AM today, Thursday, 20th August 2020.

1 reply »