Liverpool Set to Pay Arsenal After Winning the Premier League

Liverpool Football Club will pay several rival football clubs a total of around £10 million as bonuses and add-ons to sign-on fees for players like Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane, Adam Lalana, Dejan Lovren, Joe Gomez, and Andrew Robertson, after successfully winning the English Premier League this season. Southampton Football Club, Arsenal Football Club, Charlton Athletic Football Club, and Hull City Football Club are set to be the biggest beneficiaries.

Southampton Football Club are to benefit the highest as they will be paid £3 million due to the transfers of Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane, Adam Lalana, and Dejan Lovren to the champions.

Arsenal are due for an amount that is close to a million pounds for the transfer of talented England midfield player Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, who moved to the Anfield outfit in 2017. Interestingly, the player, popularly called The Ox during his time at the North London club, was signed as a teenage talent by Arsene Wenger from Southampton Football Club.

Both Hull City Football Club and Charlton Athletic Football Club now play in the Championship, one division lower from the English Premier League, but will profit from Liverpool FC winning their first league title in 30 years because of the transfers of Andrew Robertson and Joe Gomez respectively, to the red half of Liverpool.

These payments are due to wellthought clauses in the contract agreement between the selling club and the players’ new destination club. While they benefit from the performance of the buying club if their departing players contribute to their new clubs tasting success; the clauses also help the financial values of the players involved, maximizing their worths.

Oxlade-Chamberlain has won both the UEFA Champions League and now the English Premier League since joining Liverpool FC roughly three years ago, something that has eluded Arsenal FC, his beloved former club.

Liverpool FC became Champions of the English Premier League for the first time since its inception in 1992 after their closest rivals, Manchester City Football Club, lost 2-1 to Chelsea FC away on Thursday, June 25th, 2020, making it impossible for the Citizens to catch up with the Meyserside club.

It is the first league title for Liverpool after a drought that lasted for thirty long years.