Owerri, Port Harcourt, 3 Other Airports To Reopen On June 21– FG

Only five airports across the country would commence operation ahead of the June 21, reopening of airports, according to the Federal Government on Tuesday.

The presidential taskforce on COVID-19 had on Monday, disclosed that airports in the country, would commence flight operations in the country on June 21.

In a circular signed by the Director-General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, Capt Musa Nuhu, which was addressed to airlines, the authority said other airlines would remain grounded subject to assessment.

According to the circular, the country’s air operations would still be shut to international flights, adding that the the June 21 reopening for airlines was still effect.

“The closure of Nigerian airports to domestic flights has been extended to 2300Z on 20th June 2020.

“The gradual start of domestic flight operations will commence on 21st June 2020 with Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport Abuja, Murtala Muhammed International Airport Lagos, Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport Kano, Omagwa International Airport Port Harcourt, and Sam Mbakwe Airport Owerri.

“Other airports will be gradually added to the network after a review and assessment,” the circular said.

Airline operations were suspended in the country in March to contain the spread of coronavirus in the country, after recording its index case late February, but the government had exempted essential flights

Categories: News

Leave a Reply