Coronavirus Spreads Across 19 States and FCT

As at Sunday evening, nineteen states and the Federal Capital Territory Abuja have recorded cases of coronavirus disease in Nigeria.

Of the 36 states in Nigeria, the virus has not been recorded in 17 states.

The states are; Abia, Adamawa, Bayelsa, Borno, Cross River, Ebonyi, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kebbi, Kogi, Nasarawa, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara.

According to the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, as of Apr 11, there are 318 confirmed cases in the country.

All the states in the Southwest have recorded cases of the virus. Lagos has 174 infections, the highest in the country while there are 20 cases in Osun, 11 in Oyo, seven in Ogun and two in Ekiti and Ondo.

In the Northeast, the only state affected so far is Bauchi which has recorded six cases.

FCT Abuja has 56 cases, the highest in the North Central. Other states in the region with cases are Kwara with two while Benue and Niger States have one case each.

Three States in the Northwest have been affected. Kaduna, Katsina and Kano States have six, four and one cases respectively.

Four of the six states in the oil-rich South-South region have recorded cases of the virus. There are 12 in Edo, five in Akwa Ibom, three in Delta and two in Rivers States.

Also, in the South-East region, Enugu State has recorded two cases while Anambra State has reported one.

Meanwhile, a total number of 70 patients have been discharged while 10 deaths have been recorded.

Categories: News