Kano Assembly Suspends Five Members for Disrupting Sitting

The Kano State House of Assembly had on Monday suspended five of its members who disrupted last Monday’s sitting, after it emerged the house committee had recommended Sanusi’s sack as the Emir of Kano.

Those suspended include, Garba Yau Gwarmai representing Kunchi/Tsanyawa Constituency, Labaran Abdul Madari representing Warawa Constituency, Isyaku Ali Danja representing Gezawa Constituency, Mohammed Bello representing Rimingado/Tofa constituency and Salisu Ahmed Gwamgwazo representing Kano Municipal respectively.

Honourable Abdulazeez Gafasa, the Speaker of the House while announcing the suspension of the members at the resumption of plenary on Monday, said the members were suspended for misconduct and violation of the rules of the house.

According to the Speaker, “the five members were suspended for violating the rules of the house especially Order IV Sub 4 a, b, d and e disrupting the sittings of the house and preventing proceedings from going on.

“They behave violently and even attempted to snatch away the mace in a clear attempt to sabotage the sitting of the house,” Gafasa said.

It could be recalled that last Monday’s sitting of the house was disrupted by some members, upon discovery that the committee saddled with responsibility to investigate Sanusi, (who until then was the Emir of Kano) was about to submit its report which recommended his dethronement. The situation led to fracas, forcing the House to adjourn plenary.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply