Trump adds Nigeria to his travel ban

Official portrait of President Donald J. Trump, Friday, October 6, 2017. (Official White House photo by Shealah Craighead)

President Trump as added Nigeria and new other countries to his ever expanding travel ban list. Included on the list are Eritrea, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Tanzania and Sudan.

Some countries are only expected to face ban on some Visa categories the Wall Street Journal reported tuesday. President Trump had told Wall Street Journal in interview of his desire to expand the list but decline to name the countries affected.

A senior administration official said the countries in question failed to comply with security measures such as biometrics, information-sharing, and counter-terrorism.

Nigeria is currently facing a decade long islamic insurgency in the northeastern part of the country where Boko Haram, ISWAP, Ansar Muslimi and other jihadi groups are said to have captured territory.




Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply