MUTA Education Scholarship Announcement
Available to all STEM undergraduate students in Nigerian Universities
2020 – 2021 Academic Year

Deadline: Wednesday, April 15, 2020

The MUTA Education and Cultural Committee, on behalf of the MUTA Executive Committee and General Assembly, is pleased to announce the call for applications for the 2020 MUTA Education Scholarship Awards. These awards are intended for full time undergraduate students of Tiv origin from Benue, Taraba and Nasarawa states, who are enrolled in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) programs, Medicine and allied medical professions. One qualified recipient will be selected from each of the 14 Tiv-speaking LGA in Benue State and one each from Taraba and Nasarawa states.

The MUTA Education Scholarship program was established with the principal aim of offering financial support and recognizing full-time students with outstanding academic achievements and personal excellence. The awards are based on merit and are given to students who have obtained the highest course-specific cumulative grade point average (CGPA) in their respective local government areas.

MUTA anticipates making up to 16 awards for the 2020 – 2021 academic year. The amount per recipient is N30,000.00. This amount will be disbursed directly to the recipient’s account and may be applied toward tuition, fees, research, or other costs directly related to undergraduate study.

To be eligible, the applicant must

  1. Be enrolled in an undergraduate STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics), medicine or any allied medical field.
  2. Have a minimum cumulative grade point average (CGPA) of 3.5 on a 5.0 scale (equivalent to second class upper degree) or 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
    Note: No consideration will be given to applicants who do not meet the above CPGA requirement even if the applicant has the highest CGPA in his or her local government.

Applications that satisfy eligibility criteria will be subjected to review by a committee. The evaluation components include the CPGA (60%) and the strength of a students personal statement (40%). The applicant’s final score will be the weighted average of the above evaluation components.

An electronic copy of the application form is available for download at

Supporting documents
In addition to the application form, applicants should submit a 2-page, double spaced personal statement explaining why they are deserving of this award. Appropriate justification may include academic history, accomplishments, community service, career goals and financial needs. The Committee also requires the following items:

  1. A statement of declaration that the candidate does not, and shall not, belong to, or participate in, any cult or related organizations on or off campus.
  2. State or Local Government (e.g., a certificate of local government origin) and State (e.g., Benue, Nasarawa, Taraba) of origin certificate.
  3. A signed letter from the institution’s Academic Officer and the appropriate Head of Department indicating the candidate’s current CGPA.

Applicants will be excluded from consideration, if they are found to have falsified information. Completed application form and all required supporting documents must be received by the Committee on or before the deadline of Wednesday, April 15, 2020 (US EST (GMT-5). The completed application package should be sent to:

Award winners will be notified by email. Applicants not selected for award will not be contacted. Additionally, Scholarship recipients will be announced on Radio Benue and posted online at by June 05, 2020. The Committee encourages all applicants to check online for the status of their application on the specified date. Awards will be presented at an award ceremony sometime in July 2020. The exact date will be announced once arrangements are concluded. Award recipients must consent to having their image used for promotional purposes.

Information regarding MUTA awards for subsequent years will be available on the official MUTA website:

All scholarship related enquiries should be directed to:

Categories: News

Leave a Reply